The first time I tried to eat at Betty’s Pies, I didn’t.  I gave up.  There were too many people waiting outside.  And this was in the Fall, not the busy summer tourist season.

But I tried again the next time I was up around those parts, and I wasn’t disappointed.  The thing feels like a greasy diner from an old episode of Peter Gunn.  I had a burger and fries.  Good burger, good fries.

And then I had a piece of pie that should’ve been illegal.  Not because it was bad, but actually because it was kind of like a good drug.  Addictive.  Too rich.  Why oh why?  I loved it.  It was THE BUTTERFINGER PIE. And it made me want to have sex.

The first time I went to Betty’s Pies, it was nice outside and close to lunch.  Thus, a crowd.  But when I got in the next time, it was rainy, cold, and in the middle of the afternoon.  I liked the joint best like that.  Nearly abandoned, frozen in time.  Smelled like grease and chocolate and a cold a/c.

I didn’t have my camera with me, but here are a couple of pics off their website:

I sat in one of those blue booths on the right.

I want more of Betty’s Pies.  I’ll be back.  I’ll wait until it rains.

