I like Kihndo so much, I used it as a setting for a scene in my first mystery novel.  Nice atmosphere in Uptown, kind of collegiate.  Simple interior.  Yellow wallpaper.  Long. Tunes.  And some impossibly good pho.

I love pho.  I’ll write more about other places I’ve had pho, too, but let’s start with this one because it’s such a cozy, inexpensive pleasure.  Rich broth, loaded with meat.  I prefer mine with either sirloin or brisket.  And then the fun part: make it incredibly hot.  Pour in the hot sauce.  Go big.  Make your eyes water.  It’s a cure for the common cold and tastes better than Ny Quil (but will put you to sleep all the same).

I go for the pho.  I stay for the simplicity.  The first time I walked in, it felt like my local joint.  I’m sure everyone who walks in feels that way.  Mine.  All mine.

