I’m going to cheat a little and point you to Heavy Table’s listing for Russ Kendall’s.  If you’re this far up north, you should try some smoked fish.  And I hit Russ Kendall’s every time I’m up on the North Shore for some King Salmon.  Fine, fine stuff.

There’s something about it being right across the street from Lake Superior, too.  Always quiet when I’ve been.  Never busy (even though Andrew Zimmern apparently made it popular, as the HT post tells you).  Just a simple store, a display case full of fish, some odds and ends in coolers and on shelves, plus some cheese from around the area.

I just like standing in the parking lot eating what I’ve just bought right out of the paper wrapping with my fingers.  Smell the smoke.  Listen to the wind, the shore.  Especially good in a day with a light mist falling on everything.

They tell me the Whitefish is good.  Maybe I’ll try it.  For me, it’s the salmon that calls me back.  Best I’ve ever had.